Power 200 Women logo atop a collage of the winners' headshots

Buffalo State Shines on Business First’s ‘Power 200 Women’ List


Several Buffalo State College alumnae, faculty, and staff members were recognized last week when Buffalo Business First rolled out its 2022 Power 200 Women list countdown, showcasing its picks for Western New York’s most prominent female leaders.

The list spotlights those whose talents and influence fuel economic, social, and cultural growth in the region. Buffalo State College President Katherine Conway-Turner ranked eighth on the list, making her one of the region’s top 10 leaders. Also recognized were Linda Dobmeier, ’71, chair of the Buffalo State College Council; Susan McCartney, director of the Buffalo State College Small Business Development Center; Tracy A. Sawicki, ’84, Buffalo State College Foundation board member and chair of the Foundation Development Committee; and SUNY Trustee Eunice Lewin, whose long-standing ties to Buffalo State include the 2008 President’s Distinguished Service Award for her chairmanship of the foundation galas.

The list also included an impressive number of Buffalo State alumnae:

Lavonne Ansari, ’91
Connie Brown, ’78
Sheila Brown, ’83
Patricia Clabeaux, ’72
Debra Colley, ’79
Catherine Collins, ’75
Anne Constantino, ’80
Gayle Perry Denning, ’88
Patricia Farrell, ’89
Darby Fishkin, ’94
Mary Jo Hunt, ’78
Alice Jacobs, ’16
Erin Johnson, ’99
Denise Jones, ’88
Sheila Kee, ’73
Brenda McDuffie, ’74
Brandye Merriweather, ’04
Jennifer Parker, ’93
Shana Stegner, ’14
Jacqueline Taylor, ’94

The Power 200 Women countdown is sponsored by M&T Bank and the University at Buffalo’s School of Management.

Images by Business First.