Business First logo for Power 200 Women

Buffalo State Alumnae Make Strong Showing on Business First’s ‘Power 200 Women’ List


An impressive number of Buffalo State University alumnae were recognized on Buffalo Business Firsts 2023 Power 200 Women list, which showcases Western New York’s most prominent female leaders.

Each year the list spotlights women whose talents and influence fuel economic, social, and cultural growth in the region. Featured on this year’s list were Linda Dobmeier, ’71, chair of the Buffalo State Council; Patricia Farrell, Buffalo State Council member; Tracy Sawicki, ’84, Buffalo State Foundation board member; and Eunice Lewin, SUNY trustee.

Also recognized were New York Assembly Majority Leader Crystal Peoples-Stokes, ’74, ’02; and Lockport Mayor Michelle Roman, ’00, who ranked second and 11th, respectively, on the list of Power 200 Women - Power Politicians.

Other Buffalo State alumnae on the list:

LaVonne Ansari, ’91
Patricia Clabeaux, ’72
Debra Colley, ’79
Catherine Collins, ’75
Carolyne DeFranco, ’88
Gayle Perry Denning, ’88
Darby Fishkin, ’94
Mary Jo Hunt, ’78
Alice Jacobs, ’16
Denise Jones, ’88
Sheila Kee, ’73
Allanna Kelly-Beaton, ’14
Elizabeth Mauro, ’92
Brenda McDuffie, ’74
Brandye Merriweather, ’04
Kathleen Neville, ’74
Jennifer Parker, ’93
Sheila Rayam, ’90
Shana Stegner, ’14

The Power 200 Women countdown is sponsored by M&T Bank, BestSelf Behavioral Health, Southtowns Radiology, and the Buffalo Federation of Neighborhood Centers.

Image by Business First.